Ancho Kit (X2) Problem about max distance setting and signal strength raw data

Discussion in 'Chips+Salsa' started by ZhangJunpeng, Nov 10, 2016.

1. ZhangJunpeng

ZhangJunpeng New Member

Hi,
    Now I have the Ancho Kit, and I'm studying the demos pre-installed in the BBB board(with the path ../Demos/Ancho). There are two questions confused me at present.
    1.The default max distance that the Kit can measure is just around 1 meter, how can I change it and make the distance larger than 1 meter?
    2.A "signal strength" question. From RangingDemo, ZoneSense demos we can easily get the raw distance data using "printf" function in C language. But can we get the "signal strength" data from any demo as well? From the 192.168.7.2:8081, there is a SalsaScope B-Scan figure demonstracts signal strength in the Starting SalsaWeb. Can we get the real signal strength data just like the way we get the distance data?
    Thanks.

2. Will

Will Moderator XeThru Partner

Hello,
    1. To change the default distance, just increase the register setting "FrameStitch" to more than 1. Every time you increase this variable by 1 you add approximately a meter of data (depending on your sampling rate), which increases your data size by 256. However, increasing "FrameStitch" will decrease the frame rate because the radar sweep time has been increased.
    2. Absolutely, the signal strength data is essentially the raw data, as this is a DAC counter value (normalized to voltage) vs. time (normalized to distance). Every time there is an update, a new radar frame has been acquired. Just grab the data in the loop right at this point. For instance, in the Ranging Demo the raw radar data is the return of the function call radarHelper_getFrameRaw (line 386).
    Regards,
    Will

3. ZhangJunpeng

ZhangJunpeng New Member

Thanks, Will. Your reply really helped me continue to study the demos. But: